Another Reason to Shun Random Groups…

January 20, 2011 at 6:31 am (5-Mans)

As a hunter, I’ve received a number or requests while runing random 5-man groups: CC this, don’t CC, dismiss your pet, have your pet attack this, etc.  However, being told to respec is a new one for me.  I understand that MM isn’t the OP machine that survival is, but there is no reason to expect me to go back, spend cash and respec to what the tank thinks I should run, and expect me to run it as well as I do MM.  I have to admit, this one took me back – in retrospect, I should have asked for cash to respec (twice), and if he had ponied up, I should have come back and done miniscule DPS – survival isn’t my main spec (I have off-speced it now, but more for playing around with to learn than anything else.)  When I refused, the tank made it clear he wasn’t going anywhere until 15 minutes had passed and he could vote to kick me.  Apparently, a 45 minute wait now gives one an asshat with a Napoleon complex.

There was a time when I could have respectfully run a survival hunter, but Cataclysm changed the mechanics of huntering so much (along with about a 3 month absence from the game) that I wouldn’t feel comfortable running it in a heroic right now.  I suppose I’m not one of the uber-elite who spends their entire day playing, I have a life that makes demands … I’ll get to the other specs later.  Heck, after 4.0.6, folks may not be in such a hurry to grab that spec anyway.

2 Comments

  1. Blogosphere Roundup | MMO Melting Pot said,

    […] whole blue thing really does go with the image. He’s mixing up screenshots with articles on random groups and getting stuck into Blog Azeroth’s shared topics with this week’s one on making […]

  2. Netherhood Welcome Wagon – Little Blue Dog | Twisted Nether Blogcast said,

    […] If you head over to Little Blue Dog, you can find many interesting articles such as learning what Rustbeard thinks makes an encounter click and how he feels that archeology brings him closer to his Dwarf roots. While you are there, you can also pick up some tips and tricks for first time hunters. You might also enjoy his editorial on elitist attitudes or thoughts on random groups. […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

