A LFGOGOGO Button?

January 29, 2010 at 7:08 am (Uncategorized)

Over the recent weeks, the discussions going around on the LFD tool, and of over-geared players kicking or leaving in disgust their less well-geared counterparts has given me much to chew over in my mind.  Then, a couple of weeks ago, Brigwyn and Daewyn on the Hunting Lodge Podcast threw out the idea of having a selection a “Badge Run” on the tool.  I responded with an e-mail, stating that if such a button existed, there ought to be an auto-shard, with no gear loot being given for that particular run.  Brig’s initial comment was “Harsh”, but I do believe that he gave the idea some thought.

My reasoning behind such a rule was to prevent the near immediate kicking that some pugs have experienced, when happening to end up in a group of epic-equipped 80’s.  My original understanding of the LFD feature was that it would group players with like-equipped others.  The results, more often than not, include one under-geared player amongst 4 others who are far above the dungeon level.  Heaven help the poor singular, more so if it is the tank.  This is why I almost dread hitting 80 – unless I’m going with guildies, I’m almost certain of a “good grief” reception.

The concept I have is fairly simple – a “Speed Run” Button that gives a warning that no gear will drop though the instance, only DE items.  By eliminating gear, you drive down the incentive for under-geared players to group up – and nothing would prevent over-geared players from running in randoms where gear drops, but they would be forced into understanding that players of lower level gear would be involved in the run.  The downside is this: there would be a longer wait time for DPS classes, particularly for the non-speed runs.  With the current structure of limiting groups to within a single battlegroup, this becomes impossible to change.  Don’t get me wrong, I understand the reasoning Blizzard has behind this setup – the systems are co-located and (I assume) physically wired to reduce lag.  I don’t know if it’s possible to connect other co-located battlegroups, but it would go far to reducing the wait that an idea as mine would generate.

1 Comment

  1. Torval said,

    Remember the good old days when heroics were actually fun and required strategy? Yeah, me neither. Seems lately if the tank is not able to pull two or three groups at a time then he’s undergeared. Don’t get me wrong… I LOVE the speed run. But I’m not going to throw a fit if we have to take it one pull at a time. Lighten up people.

Leave a Reply

