Not Fade Away

September 18, 2011 at 8:22 am (Real Life)

Well, this is it.  Thanks to new wrinkles in my existance, such as that my daughter’s new schedule changes on an hourly basis, and prevents my keeping any kind of committment, to my fiscal bloodbath sustained due to the housing crash while attempting to relocate; I will no longer be able to take the time to play Warcraft.  Once my spouse arrives and can assume weekend child-duties, I will in all liklihood be taking a second job, eliminating any time but that necessary to work (12-13 hour days on the weekdays, and now weekends as well), serve as an ATM to my wife and a taxi to my daughter, and perhaps get 5-6 hours of sleep a night.  Unless I suddenly hit the lottery for 300 million, divorce, and move to Vegas, this will be my last post.  But, before I left, I wanted to take a moment to thank some people:

To those few of you who read this blog somewhat regularly – many thanks for putting up with my incoherent rambling.  I tried to make a point or two, but I was fully aware that for the most part, it was a waste of my time.  I hope the occasional humor kept it from being a waste of yours as well.

To my guilds, both past and <Sword of Azeroth>.  Thank you for letting me get in the joy of raiding.  Trust me, you’ll be better off to find a hunter of some quality – and one who doesn’t crack so many Firefly references.

My fellow bloggers – thanks for your input, and your ideas.  Couldn’t have made it as far as I did without you.  Same to the wonderful podcast community – you made my commutes much more bearable – don’t know how I’m going to make it through the roughly 15 hours a week in the car now.

I regret never finishing a tier set – like so much else in my life, it will remain a bitter reminder of what I wanteed to accomplish.  I regret not being able to finish the journey with Bullheaded – my friends in <Shadow Rising> were most accomodating to allowing a true-blooded Alliance player come experiment on the dark side.

So, from Rustbeard, Blackrune, Shepard Book, Blackbeard, Cloudshadow, Big Crawdaddy, Semira, Nightmoss, and Bullheaded, I wish you a very fond farewell.

Ed was once a former dwarf hunter in World of Warcraft.  Of all the things he will miss, the greatest will be the friendships he formed in the game.

7 Comments

  1. Torval said,

    Sorry to see you go. Thanks for the memories man. Just know, there WILL be a massive push to get EVERYONE, past and present, back together in the same place come Diablo III. I’ll keep in touch and you have my number. And now… I shall go have several shots in honor of my fellow raider and friend.

  2. Lilmiss said,

    Sorry to see you go Rust bu i do understand the complications that MMO’s can bring the RL. I wish you all the best.

    Lil

  3. koalabear21 said,

    Awwww bye Rusty!

    We’ll miss you!

  4. Flibbletalos said,

    Take care Rusty, an hopefully I will catch you around some where…. Maybe Diablo III by chance. Thanks for all the fun times battling it out with you in achievements and the mount race to 100. Best wishes and Happy Hunting Rusty

  5. Troutwort said,

    Best wishes in life. Always enjoyed reading.

  6. Torval said,

    Help! Pandas have invaded! Missing you buddy!

Leave a comment